In February of 2024, Mrs Hong and Mr.Gerhard took a trip to Vietnam. They took the opportunity to visit the children in Can Gio and meet several children who have not yet found a sponsor. Accompanied them are Ms. Ngoc Anh, Ms. Hoang Yen, who have always there to help GiKaD, and Ms. Minh Tuyen (France).

Highlights of the Trip to visit students in Cần Giờ, Long Hòa High School

Departing at 6:30 am, we arrived at Hoa Hiep primary school around 9 a.m. We met up with Mr. Thong and awarded “Tet” gift bags with lucky money to 12 students at Long Hoa high school, Can Gio. These students have been Young Leaf Scholarship recipients since elementary school.

High School Bình Khánh

The Discussion with students on their future goals

Currently, there are 4 students from Hoa Hiep Primary School, Can Gio, applying for the Greenleaves Scholarship for the 2024-2025 school year. On this occasion, the GiKaD group had an opportunity to directly meet and discuss with them about their family situation.

Trần Thủy Tiên, 10 years old, class 2/1

I am living with my grandmother, uncle, father and 3 sisters at my grandparents' house. My youngest sibling is 5 years old.
My father works as a temporary worker: construction work (350,000 - 400,000 VND/day), loading and unloading salt bags etc. In general, he does manual labor work, and the job is not steady. During dry season, his income ranges from 7 - 10 million/month. During the rainy season, the income is a lot less due to no job availability.
I like writing and reading, but I do not like Math.
When I grow up, I want to be a doctor.

Lê Thanh Hậu, 8 years old, class 2/2

My parents work as hired manual laborers for people who need temporary workers. They do manual construction work, catching snails etc... The estimated income is about 7 million/month when they are employed. Food, electricity, and water costs are about 5-6 million/month, not including my school fees. My house does not have electricity and water, so we have to ask our neighbors for temporary usage.
My parents have 4 children. The oldest child is 20 years old; he is married and lives on his own. My other two siblings are 17 and 11 years old. I am the youngest child.
I like writing and reading.
When I grow up, I would like to do “lion dancing”.

Trần Ngọc Khánh Linh, 8 years old, CLASS 2/1

My mother left when I was 1 and a half months old, my father went to prison (He has served 5 years/14 years).
I currently live with my grandparents at their house. To make a living, my grandmother sells fruits, clams, snails etc… on the street.
I like studying Math. I don't like music, but when I grow up, I want to be a singer.

Phạm Chí Khanh, 8 tuổi, lớp 2/2 (alread found his Sponsor)

My mother left when I was a few months old. I have an older sister who is in 6th grade.
I am currently living with my father and grandparents at my grandparents' house. My grandmother sells fried shrimp cakes on the street in the 4/30 tourist area on Saturdays and Sundays. My grandfather and father catch and sell octopus, sesarmid crab  ... Our income is about 10 million/month if they have a job.
I like writing and reading, but I don't like Math.
When I grow up, I want to be a police officer.

Anyone who is willing to sponsor Trần Thủy Tiên, Lê Thanh Hậu, Trần Ngọc Khánh Linh, please contact GiKaD via email to receive more details about their family background and education.